So, I’m currently on spring break from school. With the way the Japanese college semester works at my university, we are in school from September (October, really) till late January/Early February. Needless to say, I’ve been in full do-nothing mode, as college is one of the few times after high school where people have things like “Spring break”. Though I spoke to a colleague of mine and she reminded me that adults have breaks too, and they last as long as you want, they’re just called something else; “Layoffs”.

That aside, I want to try and dig up/recall everything that happened for my New Years in Japan. I take pictures for this very purpose, and while I can’t say I had such a crazy new years as to need these pictures to remember anything that happened, they are certainly very helpful for me.

In stark opposition to many other foreigners in Japan who try and experience a very-ultra-japanese new years, I ended up spending my new years surrounded by the largest amount of foreigners I’ve ever seen in japan.

Here’s the scene — Me and some friends (and by some I mean like maybe 7), spend our 2010-2011 New Years in the (widely regarded) “sketchiest” place in Tokyo, Roppongi. Home to a lot of bars and clubs, it’s the kind of place where a wallet or two might get stolen. Not “rival-gang territory” area bad (for those who can identify? I can’t but I thought I should be considerate of others), but just a little on the sketchy side, as is often the case with places that have a lot of leisure/pleasure focused businesses.

Roppongi also happens to be where Gaijin (foreigners) probably most often go to party. And on New Years, there was NOTHING but Gaijin. I say nothing but, and of course, it’s an exaggeration, but there was probably about 3 Gaijin to every 1 Japanese person. This might not seem like much, but I should mention that in my everyday life, it’s about 10 Japanese to every 1 Gaijin, and that’s not even in crowded areas like trains or downtown. It was insane.

But I digress, me and some friends went out to a club, and partied the night away. As I didn’t want to destroy my camera, it didn’t see much use after we left a friend of mine’s dorm (since it was much safer there), so I only have a couple pictures, but maybe if you want a more detailed explanation, you could go watch “The Hangover”, a great movie that might perfectly capture what my night was like (minus pet tiger, mike tyson, drugs, car, wedding, and probably some other stuff I’ve forgotten).

Either way, enough talky-talky, more pictures.

A Manga that I read in the US. It is really old, yet pretty popular in Japan, and it was weird to see it in book form (I usually find it online....)

Why was I taking pictures of books at a new year’s party? Good question. I think the party hadn’t quite started at that point…

A parked subbie I saw on the way to the party, had to stop and shoot a quick picture of it.

Some friends of mine walking towards the party. I think I might have previously hated how good I am at night-shooting.

As expected, multiple friends had parties and gatherings... At one of them, they were making a traditional japanese dish called Nabe. This is essentially what it looks like before it's cooked... I think it is called 'Hot Pot' in englishy translation speak.

A closeup of the most important part of the afore-mentioned dish. Hint: It is not the tofu.

This. Looks. Delicious.

So what about all the pictures of this epic party I said I have? There’s one. I’ll leave the rest to your imaginations and that movie I mentioned.

I wonder if what's in that water bottle is water...

