So, I might be a little late, but here’s how thanksgiving in Japan went for me:

Well, thanksgiving isn’t heavily celebrated at all in Japan, as one could have guessed, but being involved in various Gaijin (Foreigner, in Japanese) oriented organizations/social groups, I definitely celebrated it multiple times.

With my don’t-show-faces-of-people-who-don’t-know-they-are-on-a-blog-post rule (it’s a tongue twister, I know), what I can post is quite limited, but I hope you can at least get the idea of how things went down, and how much of an awesome day I had.

First off, the dorm I’m living at, which is composed of both foreigners and regular Japanese people (as opposed to non-regular ones), threw together a celebration for Thanksgiving. Dorm’s called DK House Warabi, for those that care, it’s pretty good, but maybe I’ll submit a full review after I’ve moved out… Though there weren’t any American-Indians present, there were a bunch of Americans. And no smallpox blankets were exchanged.

Here are the pictures!

The most important part of the meal... CAUTION: Not a turkey.

Can you have Thanksgiving without a turkey? I guess so….

As you can see, there is some proof I did not buy all this food myself and eat it alone... Actually, I didn't buy much of the food at all...

Aaaaaand that was quick.

So, Pictures are definitely lacking, and that’s because I tried to not show any faces… Internet privacy and all. Maybe I’ll repeal that rule later but for now, since this post should come with like 4 following it describing all the things I did since I was super late… I hope everyone will be content with text (as if).

Well, back to my Thanksgiving celebrations; I also celebrated thanksgiving with a circle (pronounced saakuru in Japanese) called SISEC. They’re like a foreigner meet japanese dating site, minus the dating part. They held a kind of party I don’t think I’ve ever been to before: A Cooking Party. Basically, some people organized what would be made from ideas submitted, and they got recipes together, and ingredients, and everyone tried to make the dishes that were proposed. A really great idea, though a bit troublesome probably, for planners (I was not one of them, but I know one that was, and it looked pretty stressful…).

Everyone starting to get into the mood of Thanksgiving by showing up...

A street shot from the closest station. Why is this in here? I don't know.

And to match the street shot, here's a shot of the buildings opposite of the room we used to make things!

We made a ton of different foods at the cooking party, some of which were treats like desert cookies... Here are some fo the ingredients we used (No wine was consumed at this party... That is a makeshift rolling pin)

Pastry Slug?

We made many stars and shapes and stuff out of the doubh, all the cookies also came out pretty tasty. What an awesome experience. Yes, those could maybe be considers ninja stars.

More of our wonderful stars and pastries!

Yeah, this is a picture of some people melting butter.

Some dishes, in their finished state.

OK, so, you are probably expecting more images. Well, I took my camera there on 20% battery… and all the battery ran out…

You’re probably more worried about whether we could find Turkeys for thanksgiving, to properly demonstrate how to celebrate thanksgiving to the Japanese present. Well, we did, and they were DELICIOUS. However, I took pictures of them with someone else’s camera (Sony Alpha, was pretty awesome), and soooooooo…

This post is a disappointment, but at least, my Thanksgiving in Japan wasn’t!

